Using a Fostex 4030 with DAW?

MauiSnowStudios

Hello! I have been looking into syncing up my tape machine with my DAW and would like to have the DAW be the master if possible. I was looking into getting a MOTU digital timepiece to connect to my computer, then connect the smpte output of that into a Fostex 4030 master code in. Then set up the tape machine into the slave transport and code in on the 4030.

My main question is does anyone know if the 4030 requires a master transport cable to be connected? It seems it wouldn’t really be needed in this setup but not sure if it would all work without it. Trying not to spend more than I did on my reel just to sync. Any other options or help would be appreciated as this is my first time venturing into synchronizing. Thanks so much!

There might be a way to do this, but I'm not sure it would be worth the trouble. The Fostex 4030 is an old machine and probably doesn't have the best sync accuracy. You might be better off finding a newer tape machine that has better sync capabilities.

--
Jason Hook. I enjoy remixing old songs using Audacity together with UnMixIt for vocal removal or isolation

Thanks for the response! It seems like the microlynx is one of the best one I can get for a decent price. I’ll keep my eye out for one of those as well.

I’m running an 85-16b and one reason I liked the 4030 is that it has cables available to easily hook up to the 85-16b. If anyone else has any recommendations for synchronizers that may work better, please let me know!

I also would love to hear any feedback from those that may use (or have used) a 4030 or even a 4050. Thanks again in advance for any assistance!

I don't think Jason has the faintest idea what a Fostex 4030 is - he's just here to spam his links.