URGENT : help needed to mic banjo for gig

Peter Lancaster

I've been asked to mic up a banjo player at a gig tomorrow night. As I've never worked with a banjo before (or even seen anyone play banjo live) can anyone advise me on where to point the mic and what type of mic to use?

I was thinking of using an AKG C1000 as it would be more detailed than an SM57. Should I use the C1000 in hypercardioid or leave it in cardioid?

I think the gig will be fairly acoustic (no drums) so I don't think the monitors will be loud. Any special things I might need to look out for eq wise that could cause problems?

Pete.

I'd use the 57. Banjo is harsh enough without running it through a C1000.

If the guy playing banjo has ever done any live stuff he'll know what to do with it.

Banjo is a REALLY dynamic instrument in a good player's hands. If the guy doesn't know how to work a mic it won't matter much where you position it. Start with the mic a little below the neck-body joint. When he's vamping he'll have to back off a bit, and when he solo's he can step up to it.

The banjo is best mic'd from as far across the room as you can place it, with the rear of the mic facing the banjo. If the player knows how to actually tune the banjo, you can turn the mic around. :)

I speak from 30 years experience of performing with banjo players...they don't need a mic. :D

But, if you insist on micing them, the other guys are 100% correct - SM57

Crazydoc obviously has the most experience here at mic'ing banjo :D but if you really have to put one in the same general area, yeah, a 57. An M-88 will blow it away if you have one handy, but a 57 will do you just fine.

John Scrip - www.massivemastering.com

Thanks guys. Great advice. I'll pack an SM57.

Banjo is a fairly rare instrument to hear in the UK.

Crazydoc's method is the same that I use for mandolin. Often leaving the instrument in its case sounds best.

Pete.