UNbalanced signal: sound captured off the middle line (main cause of all the noise?)

Status
Not open for further replies.

helleeno

Hello, everyone!
Since I've installed Adobe 3.0 on this very notebook I've been using for around 3 years, all of what I record is shown below the middle line of the track. It's like the sound is not being captured with balance, or the balancing channel splitting line is being placed off of where it should be.

After applying "Noise Reduction (process)" (100%, by the way) on a track (the very one on the illustrating picture), that track was placed right on the middle line, and started sounding cristal clear.

Any ideas of what could be causing this "malcapturing"? Mic cable, the mic itself, the PC mic input, ASIO4ALL, bad set up software, etc...?

Thank you all once again!

Attachments

• Out of bounds sound.jpg
    Out of bounds sound.jpg
    63.5 KB · Views: 19
Exactly.

I don't know Adobe, but it probably has a way to remove the DC offset without doing anything else. In other words: don't run noise reduction, remove it the correct way.

More generally: the fact it first appeared when you installed Adobe kind of suggests Adobe is the culprit, which seems bizarre to me. It'd have to be seriously bad software to do that - or you'd have to have set some option in a way that seems really unlikely, if it's even possible. One thought: the offset might be produced by your hardware, but whatever your old software was automatically removed it.

In any event: if it is produced by the hardware, you want to fix it there, rather than just correct it. It's stealing headroom, for one thing. If the PC mic input is the soundcard built into a laptop, that would seem the likeliest culprit.

On a separate point: I don't know what the recording is you're showing in the picture. If that was audio you're trying to make sound good, you might want to have it peak a little bit higher than -15 dBFS.