Tunning Drums?

A GUY NAMED JON

OK guys just to let you know I'm a guitar player and I'm new at this whole drum thing. I have a Tama Rock star kit and a recently just bought some remo pinstripe heads (just for the top of the drums the bottoms still have tama stock heads) for the drums but I can get them to sound good at all, I want to avoid putting tape everywhere to muffle them down a little. Do heads need to strech out like guitar strings do? I used the tuning method it said on the paper that came with it. So I don't know.

I have been a drummer for quite some time and I have read over the drum tuning bible, but I still have trouble getting my kit to sound good. I find it very difficult to get each lug to match each other and get a consistent pitch. Am I missing something??!!

You can read a thousand books on this subject and still not like the sound of your kit. I hand a Premiere kit that ,at the time, was really expensive and I hated the sound it produced. I tuned it, untuned it, retuned replaced the heads and still hated it. I then sold it and bought a cheaper Pearl kit and loved it. I found the right sound from the kit I liked and never looked back, when I bought my congas I first played them and tuned them in the shop and decided after looking at other drums that these were for me. Tuning is all down to what you want and may need for you to change kits to get the sound you're lookig for. Try changing the heads as this could make a big difference.
When I tuned my kit I started with the tom I normally rolled into first from the snare then tuned down into the floor tom to get an even "dah, duh, dom" sound then dampened the drums to taste with wth the drums dampers. Bass, snare and smaller drums I tuned to how I liked them, but normally I stuck to 4 or piece kits. It took me an age to get my own sound, look for what sound you want that suits your style.