"travel" kit aquarian head selection

Gear_Junky

Hi, all. I saw this "travel" kit on clearance - it was the last one in the store. It caught my eye because of its compactness (space is an issue). After having someone play it and listening I thought I liked the sound (even with cheap beat-up stock heads) and build quality and hardware are very good.

I decided to sell my current kit and put the new one on layaway.

The kit is Groove Percussion BD3164MA - a natural maple finish, 16" kick (it's a converted tom) 10" and 13" hanging toms and a 12" snare. Please don't try talking me out of this - I know I like it, I played it and listened to it, etc. And I don't care about brand names (for the sake of brand names). I know value when I see it. I am a music hobbyist and not even a drummer - just a guitarist/bassist who likes to play drums.

I like classic rock, swing/jazz (not a purist), rockabilly, etc.

On my current kit (also a 4-piece, an old Premier that looks like the Ringo Starr ludwig kit) I just installed Aquarian Performance II's and classic clear resonants on toms. I have Focux-X and classic clear res. on the snare and I have the Bass II aquarian kick head set (they're like studio-X). I like that combo.

But I wonder, since they don't make 16" bass heads, I'm gonna have to go for floor tom heads. In my last setup (on the current kit) I took out the internal "pillow" and I really like the sound - it has that punch and short attack, but has just a touch of "boom" to complement the bass guitar. (I do use a pad and a wood beater). I'm trying to decide what to get for the new 18" kick - either a Performance II (batter) and Classic Clear (res.) or maybe Studio-X (batter or maybe on both sides?).

Since I usually play with others (unmiked jams) I need the drums to cut through without making bass/guitars muddy. I have definitely "grown up" to not liking "deadened" drums - no mufflers, I am giving away the studio rings with the old kit.