Transferring old cassette tapes to digital - suggestions for EQ?

octoruss

Hello all,
I'm undertaking an ambitious project to take some of my old --in some cases 20 years old -- 4 track and demo cassette tapes (remember those things?) and transfer them to my DAW for posterity.

Can anyone suggest the best FX and/or EQ settings to clean up the sound and ensure I get the best quality? This is a new project for me and I'm not very good with EQ, so I don't really trust my own ears in this case...

Thanks!

Use good converters and transfer them as clean as possible, getting the best signal to noise ratio you can. Don't do any processing during the transfer, you can do all that later once the audio is digital. The key is to use the best converters you can, and to focus on getting a pristine transfer with good levels.

Adjusting EQ (that results in making a song sound better, instead of worse) has been about the hardest thing for me.

When I started using a 4-track cassette about 10 years ago I consistantly set both the bass and treble at 3 O'clock (12 O'clock was center, no boost or cut)...I was using my eyes instead of my ears...most of those (mixed-down to cassette) songs came out sounding like they had a layer of fog/dullness laying over them. It took me years to figure out how much damage I was doing to the sound by abusing EQ in the recording stage. If your original songs (on cassette) already sound good that will help a lot in "mastering" your completed songs (after you get them transferred to your computer).

Over the years I have had EQ "aha" moments. I've gone through different stages...I tryed (for a time) fighting the dullness by boosting the highs (this has often been the case with songs that I have transferred from cassette to computer), but then (after many months) I would conclude that the music had a too "shrill" quality (and it still might have the overlying "dull film" quality).