top 3 HomeRecording 16 Ch Mixer

thomas_cansing

top 3 HomeRecording 16 Ch Mixer

hi i'm looking foward to adquier a 16 channel mixer ( at least 8 tracks at a time recording) so i can began my homerecording tracks... i was looking to the yamaha mg16 6 Efx( is there a yahama mg16 without onboard effects?) and the alesis multimix 16( how bout the multimix firewire...) they both seem good for 8 instruments at a time recording. but i dont have muchu experience on this so i need a little help from you people. are there on your top 3 multi mixers? if not bring down your own top3.. everybody please.! thanx

I have an older Studiomaster P7. I love it because I use digital tape and this board has in line monitoring Nice 4 band sweepable EQ, decent pres.You can find them at a good price usually on ebay. Depending on what you want to spend if you have a big budget look at the Allen and Heath or a Soundcraft Ghost.
Good luck

I use an Alesis 32 in my home studio and have always liked its performance. No onboard effects and I like that. 16 inputs, 4-buss. Maybe kind of a poor man's Mackie. I don't think it will make anyone's top 3 list here, but it's been pretty solid and easy to use. There's one on eBay now at $325: http://cgi.ebay.com/Alesis-Studio-3...ryZ23785QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

I'm sure other people will mention Mackie and maybe Soundcraft as some to check out too. There's a Soundcraft FX16 for $800 on eBay, about twice what you'll pay for the Alesis I'd guess. Good luck.

what are the advantages that i have by getting a analog/digital USb rack instead of a just analog.. i got several equipments now and i wanto t start my own home recording tracks, i've in mind the alesis multimix 16 and the yamaha mg16 6efx onboard? thanx for helping...

Hey Sevenone,
What was it about the Mackie that is so much better? I've thought of making a move to Mackie. Is it the pres, lower noise, better eq? What are the big differences?

Thanks

noisedude said: