Too dead

pinhedgtr

Processing
So I put a pillow in the kick drum cause I was getting too much resonance in the recordings, but I think the pillow made it sound too dead. The pillow was longer than the bass drum itself so I have like 1/4 of the pillow folded and resting against the beater head and just touching the resonant head. What do you all use to deaden the kickdrum?

Using an Audix D6 and recording metal.

Thanks,
B

pinhedgtr said:
So I put a pillow in the kick drum cause I was getting too much resonance in the recordings, but I think the pillow made it sound too dead. The pillow was longer than the bass drum itself so I have like 1/4 of the pillow folded and resting against the beater head and just touching the resonant head. What do you all use to deaden the kickdrum?

Thanks,
B
I dont use anything in my kick drum. Get you some Aquarian Super-Kick heads and use the pillow to sleep on.

Man I'm a starving artist here, trying to come up with some alternatives. But now you got me thinking maybe I can cut the pillow to size and the sew it back up...but really just trying to find what others have done to deaden the kick drum a little.

pinhedgtr said:
Man I'm a starving artist here, trying to come up with some alternatives. But now you got me thinking maybe I can cut the pillow to size and the sew it back up...but really just trying to find what others have done to deaden the kick drum a little.
A small but heavy (non-shedding wool blend, for example) blanket folded up so you're not resting on the heads is a good substitute. No stitching skills required.

G.