To Chorus or Not to Chorus

mrbigputts

I am a lead guitarist and frontman of a local band. I am also the driving creative force behind the band (which is all new to me). I have only been writing songs for about 8 months. Most of the songs that I have written I have tried to put in some kind of hook (you know the part of the song that tends to get stuck in your head rather you like it or not) but I have also written a few songs that I really like that have no chorus at all. I do usually try to put in some kind of musical change at least but not always. Is it better you think to actually have a structured chorus or does it even really matter?

What Bob said....Also try modulating the music ..it will give you the chorus vibe with out the same old chorus approch..works for me when I'm tring to step outside and want to still have "pop" acceptance{radio play type O' thing}..Since you are "new" at the creative force thing use the situation as your laboratory!Take as many chances as you want..You only live once!Good luck..

Don

I tend to agree that if you're looking for a"radio cut" the most accepted and safest thing to do is have a chorus with a nice hook in it, but I also think it depends on what market your looking at and who you're pitching to.

I write Americana, Roots, Alt-Country, whatever it's being called this week and have had good luck pitching songs without any chorus; songs with a bridge, but no chorus; and songs that start with the chorus, have a verse, then another chorus, a bridge and end on the chorus. It all boils down to what you want. If you want to hear your song during drive time on the radio stick to the standard patterns.