Tips for Recording Distorted Guitar?

Smoobg

I'm new to recording, I'm trying to get a good, fat, guitar sound (ala Van Halen, Creed). I have an AT 3035, going into an Aardvark Direct Pro, using Cakewalk Pro Audio, and Acid. I recorded some stuff at 5:00 this morning using the line out of my TubeWorks amp(couldn't mic anything this early in the morning)going into Cakewalk. It sounded pretty fuzzy. I don't know if it's mostly my amp settings that will make the difference. What do you think? Thanks!

Generally, if the guitar tone you want is coming out of your amp, the best way to go is to record the amp. I use an sm 57, but you can experiment with what you have (Im unfamiliar with the AT 3035). Generally mic one of the the speaker cones just off center, but again, experiment with this.

If this proves utterely undoable, and you foree yourself recording alot of guitar in the future, you might want to look into soem of the Guitar Modeling units (like the Pod, or the J station). Im not a huge fan of these units cause I like the sound of a well miced guitar cab over digital imitations any day, but those units do have the advantage of being quiet and versatile.
Hope this helps
Todd

What eq levels are you cutting? I find when we mic my Deluxe Reverb with an sm57, its really scratchy sounding unless we take out some stuff with the EQ. Then we run into the whole, too mufled, or too scratchy. Any pointers?

One big tip is use compression before the distortion. This will really help give you that smooth distortion and long sustain. It especially helps if your not that great of a guitar player and are inconsistent with the attack.

Using compression also allows you turn down the distortion gain so you dont have a bunch of scratches and harmonics jumping out.

Some possibly helpful guesses etc...