tips for mixing bands with 3 guitars?

photoresistor

hey guys, ive had some experience recording and mixing my own band when we had two guitars, but now we have three and ive never worked with three guitars before. i was just wondering if anyone had any tips or techniques i might not think to try when i go about mixing our next album? (its a full band... drums, bass, three guitars, vox) its just one more thing to try and fit into a mix i guess...

thanks

I'm not a pro... but I'd prolly track them in mono.. pan one left, one right, and the best one center... Maybe do a search on Sound On Sound's site for Thin Lizzy or Iron Maiden for some info...

I think it all depends on what they are playing. If they are playing three different things it would be different. If they are all three playing the same rhythm parts I wouldn't want to pan any of them to the center, it would interfere with the vocals.
I don't really know where to go with this. Can you describe each guitarist's role? Are you all playing at the same time all the time? Are you playing harmonies or something like that?

When asking how to mix instruments, include some information about the style of music and the nature of the arrangements if you want any reliabale answers that aren't forced to go way long to cover the bases. :)

In general, track the instruments in such a way as to give them different sonic personalities. Use different guitars or the same guitars with different pickups, use different mics or mic placement on the amps, use diferent amps or at least different amp settings, or reamp them using different models, etc. Any combination of these possibilities.

If you are line doubling or tripling, these sonic differences will help fatten and add "crunch" to the sound and increase the pan options, whereas three similar-sounding guitars will leave line doublings sounding a bit flatter, going into the mix.