Thinking about buying Foxtex Products

Angelo Rubino

After poor results (likely my fault) with cubase vst 24, considering purchasing a dedicated machine to record. I went to the fostex site and was overwhelmed by the possibilities. As far as this newbie can tell there are a number of possibilities: Multi Track using cassette tape/Multi Track using built in hard drive or ZIP, and Multi Track using Mini Disks. Not to mention reel to reel. I am on a limited budget (1,000 USA tops), and would like to hear from fostex users. All I want to do is record some of the guitar parts that I have been bouncing of my bedroom walls for the last 30 years (and I still suck). I would like to add Vocal Tracks and maybe some organ, and a track from my Yamaha DD9 (Digital Percussion). P.S I would like to be able to go through with a mic (acoustic), and effects pedal (Korg A5 Performance Signal Processor), and electric guitars(Gibson ES 120 and Flying V).
Any advice would help?
Thank You to all of you that respond.

[This message has been edited by Angelo Rubino (edited 10-25-1999).]

ANGELLO, I AM CURIOUS ABOUT THE FOSTEX 380.I'M ALL TASCAM BUT I SAW A DESCRIPTION OF THE 380 IN A 3 YEAR OLD MUSICIANS FRIEND THAT LED ME TO BELIEVE THIS WAS THEIR BEST RECENT 4 TRACK.IT WAS AROUND 1000.00 THEN AND HAD DOLBY S.IT SAID IT WAS SCARY HOW CLOSE TO DIGITAL IT SOUNDED. IF A FOSTEX 4TRACK IS YOUR ROUTE, GO TO EBAY.1000.00 THEN MEANS 275.00 NOW

I bought a Fostex FD-8 about six months ago an I so far, I'm very impressed with it. I hooked up a Syjet 1.5 gig drive to it and it works pretty good. However, very occasionally, playback or record will skip or it will freeze up (like computers sometimes do). Other than these small problems, it has served me pretty well.

It records uncompressed digital at 16 bits and you can digitally move your stuff (by mix down, or take each track individually using the ADAT out).