Theoretically Ssshpeaking...

HomesickAlien

Heya..

I just got my hands on an analog mixer today and have a question...
I have been accustomed to plugging my mic's into my Firepod and recording into my DAW, which only entailed turning my levels up all the way and then down until they were not clipping.
Now, I am running my mic's through my mixer and sending the direct out to my Firepod and into the DAW.

I am wondering what is the "proper" way to balance the levels?
I have been recording for a couple years and can get a pretty nice sound of it but would like to know how this is done by people who know what they are doing...

What I am getting at is in what order I should be doing this.. for example:
1. Setting my faders to 0
2. Cranking the gain until I get a nice signal
3. Turning the level on my firepod to the highest it can go without clipping
4. Is this a really dumb question?

Or, .... ?

If it's a Direct Out...it's probably pre-fader on the mixer. So basically, it's just the signal from the pre section.

I would set my preamp gain accordingly and on the Firepod have the input at unity (no gain, no cut, aka "0")...that way the preamp level on the mixer does all the work....and then just check the digital meters to make sure you have proper signal.

If you set the mixer's preamp accordingly...but find the level at the pod is too hot or too low...check which operating levels the mixer and pod are working at (-10 or +4). If they are different...THEN use the Firepod input to adjust up/down as needed.

That's how I would do it based on the info at hand.... :)

To set the levels on an analog mixer, you'll want to set the faders at 0dB (or between 7 and 8 if they're marked 0 through 10), then use the gain knobs to set the recording level. When setting the gain controls, you want the meters for the recorder track you'll be recording that channel on to be around the 0 dB mark when the signal is strongest.