The Raid Function

Hallatar

I'm going to install new Abit kg7-Raid motherboard tomorrow and I was wondering about that raid feature. What is the best way to install two HDs? Should I use raid or what? My computer is DAW so performance of these HDs must be optimal. I have no experience of raid so help me out...

Hallatar

Yes, you should use the raid function, two drives at raid 0.

here is a good description of what the differant levels of raid do. Raid 0 will give you the best performance, and will benifit you more than having two seperate hard drives. Partition them into two seperate drives afterwards if it makes you feel better.

Thanks. That site was great and now I understand th raid better. But should I format the main drive before installing new mb? Or should both drives be formated? It would be great to move all important files to second drive... ...I have XP if that matters.

Hallatar

When I installed my RAID setup under 98se, the RAID was treated by the OS as just another storage device. I had to define partitions and format the drives using "fdisk" and "format" just like any other hard drive. My highpoint controller has its own BIOS which appears briefly on the screen right after the standard BIOS runs it's routines. Entering this "sub-BIOS" allows you to define your RAID characteristics. You may then save anything you want to the RAID drive just like you would anyother drive by specifying the path.

Now having said all that, I'm not sure it applies to XP. I think partitions, file systems, and formatting are done as part of the install with NT based operating systems. However , it is still a necessary step regardless.

Twist

Hang on a second now. When you've got a RAID 0, the two disks are combined to form one large volume. You won't have "two disks" anymore, but one large disk (as far as the system is concerned).