The Lame Lyrics Blues

seedyapartment

I've been writing songs for a few years now, and I find that alot of people around me like the lyrics. However, I can't help noticing that these people are my friends or kids in the neighborhood and things like that. My problem is that I personally don't like the lyrics of the songs I write.

I write the type of music that I don't like, and I don't want to. But since I'm a young female, it's kinda hard for me to write songs like Pete Townshend, Neil Young or Jim Morrison. I'm stuck with Michelle Branch and Ashlee Simpson-type pop ballads. In melody and in lyrics.

Does anyone else find that they have this problem? The kind where you write songs you don't particularily like? And does anyone have any advice?

I don't see why being a young female would automatically mean you have to write Ashley Simpson type songs. You can write anything you want if you use your imagination. If you feel you're writing is too feminine, try writing as a guy in that perspective. (Tom Petty writes pretty feminine at times) If you want to write a certain genre and don't have inspiration from your own point of view, imagine yourself as someone else and write from theirs.

Hopefully this comes across well. Good luck with your writings

Thanks alot, I'll definately take this into consideration. I appreciate it.

Also, to clarify, I didn't mean that I felt I HAD to write those types of female pop songs, but that with my voice coupled with the lyrics I write, I usually come across like that.

Thanks!

are you nervous that the same people who like your stuff now, wont like the new stuff?

i was in a similar situation.
i was in a group (1 of 3 emcees), i didnt like the stuff we were doing, but i was really close friends with the other two guys, and didnt have the heart to leave.
i just decided to write the stuff i wanted and not let them hear it, but continue to make music with them also.