telephone microphone

Try singing or talking into something like a Hohnner Blues Blaster 1490 (Harmonica mic). It is a Hi-Z mic you will need a XLR to 1/4 cable.
Go into a guitar amp then mic the amp.

I also made a mic from a old phone handset. I used the speake part not the mic part and put a XLR cable on it I also tried it with a 1/4 guitar cable on it.

I picked up my Blues blaster for $30.00 used

I just made a mic using the speaker out of a cheap set of headphones, talk about low fi! The only problem is that the out put is really low - have to crank my pre to get anything usable. Still fun to play around with though.

Try wiring the terminals of the telephone's microphone to a 1/4" TS jack and plug it into a passive DI, and then into your preamp.

Or just do it with EQ...

With-in reason I can supply telephones to anyone on this board that needs one. I am a test engineer and I get a lot of proto-types to test acoustically. I fill up a large garbage can about every 2 weeks with cordless and corded telephones that work just fine. The company I work for is Clarity a division of Plantronics. We build amplified telephones for people with hearing impairments check out our web site.....If you need a phone all you need to do is pay shipping, I will be glad to dig the phone out of the garbage.

BTW. This is not a general-waste only phones and such.....

sorry US only shipping

Rob

I have a thing that i bought at Radio Shack a while back and it has a suction-cup on it and you put it on the back of the telephone where the ear piece is and it has an 1/8th in jack connector so i have to use a 1/8" to 1/4" adapter then run it into my VS2480 and record phone calls MU HA AHHAHAHA...just joking i only record certain telephone parts for some songs with it...but i have IN THE PAST recorded actual calls...:D

but Vangore is right...every1 usually uses the telephone EQ effect...if your using a DAW there is usually preset eq's that u can swap onto the input!

applejax said: