tech question

soundmaster

Right now, I'm doing really well with writing & mixing my own music, but I'm getting a lot of huming, buzzing, & grounding problems. (unwanted noise is a bad thing)!

& I'm not an expert when it comes to electronics, or anything electrical.
but My bass is making a lot of noise, the noise stops when I touch somthing metal on the bass, I assum that whould be a grounding problem!
My guitar is starting to do the same thing. I don't know if the outlet that my power strips are pluged into, is bad.

Does direct boxes help out in these situations, or hum eliminators. & I also see these power conditioners in the musician friend catalogs.
or is there any websites or books that can help me understand
about electronic etc, so I can fix the problem myself.
There isn't any good guitar techs in my area, that has the time to help me out.
& I also need help with understanding how the inotation on the guitat and bass work.
These problems seemed really small to me a one time, but now that I'm recording my own music, I realize how important quiet electronics are.
If I'm going to record my own music, I might as well learn how to repair my own eqipment.
Is there any hope for me?:confused:

soundmaster,