Tascam US 1800 Recording

Zach Frazier

I have a Tascam US 1800 and am using pro tools 10 with Pyle pro pdkm7 microphone set. I have all my connections hooked up correctly because I am getting good wavelengths when I record my drums. I have my windows 7 computer set to record and playback through the Tascam unit. But when I play back what I recorded the volume in my headphones is very quiet. I have to turn up the volume all the way to get the desired sound I am looking for. I have used compression and reverb to try and get a better sound and it does work to some point, but my volume is still turned up a great deal. I don't know if I need to get a headphone amp to increase the volume or what? I am at a big loss when it comes to this problem, I have contacted the Tascam support and they were little to no help. If anyone has any solutions or ideas that would be really helpful, even if it is a simple step by step with how to connect everything. I am fairly new to this so anything helps.

Hi. I use an 1800 myself. Same problem, low headphone levels, So I added a headphone distribution amplifier, problem solved! Others around here have had the same issue.

Also make sure that the "mix" knob on the 1800 is fully clockwise on playback.

Your headphones may not be as efficient as some, hence the lower volume. A headphone amp is an easy and inexpensive solution.

There are 2 answers to this:

1) It's totally normal to have to crank up your headphones/speakers while recording. If anything, it means you're recording at proper levels, most probably. It will never never be as loud as commercial CD's or finished songs.