Tascam MSR16 vs 388 for a Newbie?

MAXRB

Hello, this is my first post. I'm Max from Spain, analog lover with a digital multitrack.:confused:
I've got some experience with recording but not with analog recording.
After reading the book "Analog recording", listening to a reel person recordings (I dig them!), listening to the first Black Keys LP many times (recorded with a Tascam 388), I'm sure I want to own a small analog studio for recording my own music.
I need that sound!
I own some vintage guitars and amps, I play garage and raw blues and I don't get the sound I'm looking for with a Korg D1600 .
I don't know if I should try to get a Tascam 388 ("portable" and ready to record) but not very seen in my country or maybe and 8/16 tracks recorder as the MSR16 (I should get a mixer as well as I don't have any, just a rode ntk, some shures and the digital multitrack).

I'm decided to begin the path to analog recording but I don't know how, please could you help me?

I own a 388 and they are pretty cool machines. They have a lot of EQ options, and they actually sound pretty good...not to mention, you can't beat having it all in one box. cheaper tape (7" reels of 1/4) too. And, you don't need all of the extra cables and space to hook a mixer up to the tape machine. If you're going to get a 1/4" 8 track, then this is a great machine. The stand alones will potentially have a "better" sound, but that depends a lot on your mixer and if the machine is a 1/2" or larger gauge. many many home recordists swear by the 388. It also has a handy monitoring section for overdubs. and the punch ins are very quiet and spot on. You can really push the tape on a 388 and get some nice tape compression, or you can use the dbx and maintain a huge dynamic range with very little noise.
hope this is helpful.