tascam 414 to cdr ?

koolkkeith

Hey how's it going everyone! Hope everyone is having a great day and making some music! I am fairly new at this so any help would be really appreciated...I have a tascam 414 portastudio and I am ready to mixdown some of my songs. I know the manual says to mixdown to a standard cassette player but is it also possible to mixdown directly to a cd burner (such as an Iomega zip cdr)? I ask because when I went out to buy a cassette deck I happen to notice that both the cassette decks and some of the cdrs had similar types of inputs on the back. I'm thinking if they both have the same inputs on the back I should be able to hook up the 414 right up to the cdr....is this right? Can i mixdown from the 414 right to the cdr? thanks!

Well, I don't know how helpful this is going to be... but I'd say check the manual on the cdr. Does it say that you can record from audio tape? If that doesn't give a definative answer then your best bet would be to give it a shot. Connect using the "line out" jacks and try it. It seems that the worst thing that could happen is you waste a blank cd if it doesn't...:D

Check out the digital stuff on Dragons website homerecording.com, especially "going digital". I'm pretty sure from the description there that you can go from a tape unit like the 414 into the CDR on a computer by plugging into the computer's soundcard. I think you can even use the 414 as a (cheap) mixer and record directly to the computer's CDR instead of tape, or mix down a tape to CD as well. I have a 414 and just got a computer with a CDR - just learned how to make copies of commercial CD's last night. Now I'm going to plug the 414 into the computer and try to mix dwon from my old tapes. I don't know if this will work with a stand-alone CDR but, what the hey, give it a try.

Oh yeah, and while you're there, check out the mixing down to a vcr stuff. The poor man's DAT. I'm going to try that too.