Tascam 414 high speed recordings

jac.pic

Hi there guys, I hope you can help me out. I have a Tascam 414 that I'm planning to record an album on (I'm into lo-fi recordings).
I discovered after the fact that this recorder records cassette at high speed.
I would like to get the recordings from the Tascam, which play at twice the normal speed, onto my computer for mixdown.
How would I do this??? Is there a simple way to do this with relatively cheap gear or would I be better off getting a normal speed recorder?

P.S. I'm very new to recording. I have a basic understanding of terms and very limited understanding of gear. (That's why I bought a 4-track!)

Thanks guys

It plays at the same speed it records. Press play and record the output on your computer.

Okay cool, can you explain to me how I would do that? I have a plain old Dell laptop with Studio One software from an Audiobox USB. I've been using that lately with a condenser mic to make recordings but don't quite understand how to get the recordings off the tape.

If I plugged my Tascam into the interface would my software detect it? Could I just plug it into one of the instrument ports then just press play and record at the same time?

If I plugged my Tascam into the interface would my software detect it?
The software detects the interface, it doesn't care what you plug into it.

Could I just plug it into one of the instrument ports then just press play and record at the same time?
If you only have a single mono signal recorded on the tascam, you would plug the output of the tascam into the input of your interface. You would hit record in studio one and hit play on the tascam.

Just to be clear, the software records what ever you plug into the interface. It could be a mic, a guitar, a CD player, the audio from a DVD player, your iPod, etc... All you have to do is play the tascam into the interface and record that into studio one.