Tascam 388 STEREO L issue

coltj14

Hello all. Finally snagged myself a Tascam 388. To my knowledge everything works well EXCEPT this one issue.

STEREO L will begin to make a crackling/popping noise and then BOOM, there is no audio signal being sent to the left channel. Nothing to the headphones, stereo out, monitor out, or even a reading on the main VU meter.
When this crackling/popping sound does happen, the VU meter picks up that signal and shows a reading.
This issue has been very annoying because it will randomly do this. I haven’t noticed a trend in anything that I’ve done that would cause this issue.
The most I’ve been able to troubleshoot is that the fuses are A-Okay as I am a noob to these schematics.

If anyone is able to help with some advice and troubleshooting, I would greatly appreciate it.

Thank you.

You probably need to replace the U104 chip on the Buss B PCB. This is a common failure with the 388 that manifests in a number of ways but always having something to do with the L-R buss, monitoring, etc. The part is cheap and readily available from places like Mouser and Digikey.

Thank you kindly. Would be able to point me towards the right direction of where I can find that in the machine?

After just screwing around and making tunes in mono, I noticed now that track 3 will drop out and sometimes when switch track 4 to either MIC or LINE, it will emit a loud high pitched screech for a few seconds and won’t do it again. I’m sorry to bombard this post with issues but I’d just prefer to fix it myself instead of spending a hefty amount on repairs.

You’re going to have to clarify…

Track = tape track

Channel = mixer channel

What are you talking about with #3 and #4? Tape tracks or mixer channels?

What is your experience level troubleshooting and repairing electronics, and what gear do you have to do this work?

My apologies. Mixer channels 3 and 4.