Tascam 34 Repro Out Issues

LUNE

...a pieds joints
Hello fellow Analog enthusiasts,
I’m new here to HR forum and signed up especially for the Analog corner over here relating to Reel to Reels - I’ve already mined some great info just eavesdropping. I’m also new to Reel to Reels, having (unfortunately, as I now see it) jumped right into Tascam DA88s from my cassette machines when digital came around. …Well, better later than never…
I’ve picked up a few stray orphan machines in the last month (Tascam 34 & 38) and got the 38 running after a belt change and rerubbered pinch roller, however the 34 still has some issues.

At first it would only record on channel 1 and would register input only on 1 & 3. It seemed to record a week signal on 4 even though it wouldn’t register an input on the meter. I sleuthed out the main problems working from the inputs to the channel boards and they cleared up with a good cleaning of the “mother assembly board” (the board where all the channel boards plugs into) with isopropyl and deoxit.

So, now I have a functioning machine that will record on all 4 tracks and play back on the sync head however there is no playback on the repro head on channels 2 & 3. Being channels 2 & 3 makes me guess it’s not an alignment issue (plus there is NO signal whatever coming out of the channel) – I’ve switched out the channel strips, but the problem stays on channels 2 & 3 which makes me guess it could not be an issue with the channel cards themselves.
It could still be an issue somewhere on the “mother assy board” or somewhere after the repro head, …or?
Anyone have any suggestions where I ought to be looking?

I’ve had some good learning even thus far with these Tascam machines – I’m no electronic repair guy, but these are great fun to learn on and it’s nice to have a few machines with similar designs to compare.