Tascam 32 problems

at this point its just one problem. i'm hoping its not 32 of them. i'm just getting started in this analog world so i'm trying to learn.

so, i just got my tascam model 32. i was eager to test it out. it only has -10dB inputs so i connected to the RCA outputs of my DAW. When i monitor the inputs i get a nice clean signal. But once i listen to the repro it sounds like crap. both channels are lacking volume, the left channel is almost non-existent and there is a whole mess of pumping.

What are some ways i can check my machine to find out whats wrong?
(i don't have any prerecorded media to test with)

mishagolin said:
at this point its just one problem. i'm hoping its not 32 of them. i'm just getting started in this analog world so i'm trying to learn.

so, i just got my tascam model 32. i was eager to test it out. it only has -10dB inputs so i connected to the RCA outputs of my DAW. When i monitor the inputs i get a nice clean signal. But once i listen to the repro it sounds like crap. both channels are lacking volume, the left channel is almost non-existent and there is a whole mess of pumping.

What are some ways i can check my machine to find out whats wrong?
(i don't have any prerecorded media to test with)

Are you using new tape or old that came with it? Could be a number of things, but you should clean and demagnetize the heads and tape path really well first. And make sure you are using good tape.

tape path is clean and heads are demagnetized. i'm using brand new quantegy 499. the inputs show plenty of signal but the left channel either doesn't record or doesn't playback. i'm not sure how to check which one without a test tape. the right channel works fine.

i have a software oscilloscope and signal generator if thats any help.

is it possible that something was knocked loose while it was shipped to me?

heeya.

So, last weekend I built a 2 channel mixer; so I thought, "I'll do some recording to the 2-track this weekend".