Tap Tuning Question

Violent5

For you guitar builders is tap tuning an essential part of a build? Or is it bs? Anyone have experience tap tuning plates? Do you have any quick advice on the subject?

I briefly experimented taping the braces of a back and top plate. Most of the taps on most of the braces would produce a ringing tone that sounded like the same pitch of the other braces on the same plate. I didn't use a tuner to try to actually tune the braces because they ring so well I was scared to alter them anyway. I just went ahead and glued the top, sides and back without tap tuning. This is my first build so I thought I'd ask for next time.

Thanks

Nope, don't do it. Not even when I'm making acoustics. The basic premise of tap tuning is to make your guitars more consistent, but as near as I can tell the builders who do it have the same level of variability as those of us who don't. And the most consistent guitars I know of (even if I don't like them) are Taylor guitars, and if you think Bob Taylor is going to waste his time on tap tuning, you are kidding yourself. Bob's goal is to get every guitar in and out of the factory with less than 15 hours of labor. Tap tuning isn't part of that equation!

Muttley will probably come along and disagree with me soon, as I believe he is one of those tap tuning guys.

Light

"Cowards can never be moral."
M.K. Gandhi

First, I don't tap tune but I do have a lot and I mean a lot, of research experience in the subject. So here goes..

Tap tuning in it's original form came about as a method of attempting to replicate the violin tops and backs of the early masters. In the guitar world it was adopted by Smirnoff et al as a method of building consistent instruments and many interesting studies have been done following papers published by Carleen Huthins of the Catgut musical acoustic society and Joseph Curtin who extended the practice in a few ways.