Take it easy, it's my first time.

TaxMan88

Okay ladies and gents . . . I submit for your consideration an OLD song of mine called "Whispers" that I dug up recently.

This is an incomplete mix in that I'm going to be adding some rhythm acoustic guitar very soon. Also, the beginning is empty and seems a bit long, but I just need to figure out what instrument I'm going to use to play the pre-piano intro. Suggestions on that are welcome. I just wanted to get some opinions/suggestions while the song is temporarily in limbo.

Anything that you have to say about this song/mix (the good, the bad, AND the ugly) will be GREATLY appreciated.

The mp3 is encoded at 128. I would have gone 160, but it would have taken FOREVER to upload. *sighs @ still being in the world of broadband*

I look forward to your input!

Thanks!
--Tax :D

Last edited:
THe sound at the beginning was very full. nice. I think it needs a tad of high end.

DUDE. THis song has POTENTIAL. The melody is very nice. The singing is tight.

I know it was done six months ago, so production skills would have been stepped up.

The first thing is that the apparent mononess of it felt stifling.

I would love to hear a stereo piano, or at least the mono panned somewhere.

Due to the nature of the song, I think the vocal could come up about 2 dbs. The doubling of the vox in some spots sounds very strange. Untraditional to say the least..

I think the high hat should come up in volume. If I am correct, its the only thing panned at all.

The kick and snare are almost non-existent. They should come up in volume

I like the vocal sound. I think you should leave the eq settings as is. It can use a bigger reverb though.

Good piano playing man. I think you should work on this song. Its a keeper.

I appreciate the interest guys!!

Cyan: