Synthesisers/pods/pedals?

Retired

Hi,

I'm setting up a studio from scratch as a total novice and gathering kit. My instruments are 3 violins including an 1880 German;all acoustic and a genuine Russian 3 string ballalaika.

Studio_0001.JPGStudio_0002.JPGStudio_0003.JPG

My studio is small measuring 144" x 78" with 96" ceiling height; door at one end and a long glazed window.

Gear so far;

Tascam DP- 008EX
Rode condenser mic on home made stand at the moment due to space problems.
Guitar amp Laney LX20R
M-Audio amplified monitors.
Behringer UMC404MD interface.
Laptop with 8 gig ram and SSD drive.
Fishman V-200 pick due to arrive very soon.

I mostly play/record/play back my German violin but I'd like to try different sound effects. I watched a girl playing her violin on YouTube and she was using a foot pedal this was a Micro-Pod and I've been trying to find this pedal here in the UK but she was in America so the pedal not available here.

Please treat me like a total novice but I'm spending far too much time trying to research and understand pedals; pods and synthesisers etc at the moment I'm baffled but I'm a quick learner and I do have some funds available so can anyone clear the fog a bit please; I see lots of electronic kit for guitars and wonder if this would also be of use to me with violins and if so any suggestions please; what to search for how to connect up for playing directly through the amp using the pickup and how to record through the Tascam using the pickup; at the moment I can record using the Rode mic on phantom power but if I try to use the amp then massive distortion sets in due to cross talk hence I've now bought the pickup.

1657012814523.png

There are lots of such kit on eBay as shown above but could I use it with violins please?