Symetrix 528E

sibleypeck

I am thinking about purchasing a 528E, and would like some input from those of you who have experience with it (Dolemite, et al).

Let me bore you with some information in order to explain how this unit will be used.

First, I have very little experience with sound engineering and no experience with outboard gear. However, I have spent many hours reading and ruminating about both those things.

I want to learn to create good quality recordings, beginning with simple demos - concentrating first on vocals.

I use an Ovation acoustic/electric, an ElectroVoice RE20, and Cakewalk.

Currently, I write the drums and all other instruments in musical notation, and let Cakewalk and a SoundBlaster PCI 64D card play them for me: a horrific experience, as I am sure most of you are aware.
I plan to upgrade to a Lynx One, but don’t know what to do about the drums and instrument sounds.

Once I learn a little about voice, I will tackle guitar and bass guitar, simply because I can play those instruments. The compressor section in the 528E, lacking attack and release controls, may not serve those instruments well, I fear. Any opinions on this?

Next, I hope to upgrade the drums and instruments sounds.

I have no plans at this time to record sessions, and so, expect to build recordings one track at a time, mixing with the software-generated mixer.

I would very much appreciate your exposing any obvious flaws in this plan, in addition to telling me what you know about the 528E.