Symetrix 528 voice processor

voiceguy

I'm a professional voice actor and am currently using a Neumann U47 fet mic, ProTools LE (M Box) along with a Universal Audio 710 Tube/Solid State combo amp. I bought the UA 710 because of the tube feature, as I like the warm feel it brings to my sessions. However, I've been hearing a lot about the Symetrix 528 voice processor (channel strip) and how impressive it is. ProTools offers compression, EQ, limiter, etc within its software. I'd like to know if I replace my UA 710 with the Symetrix: Will I get a noticeably improved quality of sound, clarity, EQ, etc?

The 528 is a decent enough preamp, but it really shines on broadcast. The processing is good - But not what I'd use for recording in most cases.

That was going to be my question......While the 528 does offer the compression, its more than likely a bit more flat sounding or colorless compared to the UA.

With that mic, pretty much anything you add to it is going to sound good(with a few exceptions) as long as you adhere to the parameters of the downstream chain.

Massive & Cavedog,
Thanks for the replies.

I've been a writer, director, producer for 30 years and throughout my career I've also worked as a voice actor. Now, with the economy in the shape it's in, I am looking to do more VO work. Over the years, I've learned to rely on the sound advice of engineers. (No pun intended).