Sweep picking problems

Guitarfreak585

Guys, I've been playing for coming up on 13 years, and I want to learn to sweep. I'm an average guitar player I suppose, maybe slightly better than average. But I cannot get this sweeping thing down past the most baaasic of patterns, and even then, only on the down stroke.

Is it just this hard to learn? Is there some damn trick I'm missing? I've been trying to learn the intro to My Will Be Done by Unearth, ad its simple enough. I watched the video and tabbed it out exactly the way he plays it, and I understand the shapes and patterns, but I cannot do this crap. I've been at it for 3 days now.

Hey GF.
I don't know what sweeping is but I do know that if a technique is like pulling teeth but I really want to learn it I just keep repeating what I can do of it until it gets in my brain then add more of what I can and add more and add more till I get it.
Sometimes it can take more time than I can give it in one or two sittings so I get up take a deep breath and start again another day.
The fact that this is frustrating you, means you really want to learn it and you'll persevere
till you get it.
The greats had their walls too and they worked through those walls and thats what made them great.
s:)

keep us posted.

I've spent 6 months working out fingerstyle ragtime pieces.

One day it all just clicks into place.

3 days is nothing. Anything of significance you try to add to your repertroire is gonna take longer than that.