Suggestions For Micing Ampeg 8x10...

This Is Poison

I'm very new to this forum and I can only assume that there are hundreds of posts regarding micing amps (some of which I have read.) From what I understand, you get a much better sound by going the DI route. My problem is, the bassist of my band would really like to record using his ampeg 8x10 (which is understandable.) Could anyone suggest some good micing techniques? I'm really new to recording at home, or anywhere for that matter, so please explain everything as best as possible. THANKS.

I have an ampeg SVT rig from like 72 or something like that. The Electro voice RE20 would be my mic of choice. It can handle the spl that comes out of that thing. + it goes down to 20HZ. I've also had good results with a D112 kick drum mic or Audix D6

I would put one somewhere towards the top of the cab to keep away from standing waves. do not place it directly on the center of the cone. face the mic strait at the speaker about 3" or so away slightly off center. you might take the grill off as well to avoid rattle. Also throw a room mic up if you can to capture some of that sonic air movement they create. ??? it worked for me. but experiment as much as you can. If you find a better way, let me know

First off, I would make sure that he does not let the cab get too loud. For micing purposes it will only serve to make things sloppy, and not bigger or fuller. I learned a cool trick form Ulrich Wylde (ala Deftones, Rage, White Xombie etc...) for capturing that big bass sound. It really surprised me, but he uses a small diaphragm condensor rather than the standard kick mic.

I agree about the RE-20. A friend I recently recorded has an Ampeg rig. Its the one of the newer Classic series rigs I believe. Its sounds sooooo freaking good.