Subgroups??

HackersDna

Ok Being that i am new at this game and trying to learn too much too fast im finding that i always going back to the basics. I have the 24 channel eurodesk and my question is that on each channel i have two buttons for assigning subgroups Button One being subs 1/2 [ pushed out for 1 and in for 2] and Button Two being subs 3/4 with 4 individual fadders, Sub 1-2-3-4. Now it seems that if i had drums-guitars-vocals-bass running thru their appropriate channels and assigned to a subgroup {example guitars and vocals on 1 and 2} i couldnt pull one away with out the other and thats no good.... What am i missing?
Thank you. HackersDna.......

HackersDna said:
i couldnt pull one away with out the other and thats no good.... What am i missing?
Thank you. HackersDna.......

That's kinda the whole idea behind subgroups. You assign multiple channels to a group or groups so that you only have to adjust 1 or 2 subgroup channels instead of 8 or 12 or however many channel faders. For example, you'd have 6 channels of drum mics going to subs 1 & 2 so that you can control your drum tracks with only 2 faders. If you want more snare, then you adjust the snare track at the channel fader instead of the sub group fader. For mixing down to 2 channels, all channels that don't go to a subgroup should go to the L-R bus. All subs should also go to the L-R.