stupid question?

Crazy Diamond

Thinking of purchasing a Roland VS-880 for my guitar studio. Unfortunately, I'm a musician more than an engineer. Can anyone explain to me what those technicians mean when they call the 880 a 16-track (8-external, 8-internal) recorder? What's the external/internal thing? Do I have to record some tracks out in the street or something? Clueless....absolutely clueless...

This isn't a stupid question at all. Matter of fact I'm only partly sure I know what they are talking about. I've never heard it called that, and I have an 880. I'll give it a shot as to what they are saying though. The 880 has 8 'channels' (fancy word they use for tracks) that you can record to. Each of these channels has 8 'virtual tracks'. That's where the 64 track capability comes from, and the 880EX has two different banks of virtual tracks so you get 128 virtual tracks on it. The reason they are called virtual tracks is you can only play back 8 of these at once, and only one virtual track per channel can be played back at the same time. On the 880EX you can only access one bank at a time, so you can't playback a virtual track from bank one and another from bank two at the same time. I don't have the EX so I'm not exactly sure about other benefits or limits this extra bank of virtual tracks might have. It's possible to route any of the inputs via one of the 8 channels to any of the 128 virtual tracks.

I hope this is what you were referring to in your question. I'd be happy to try and answer any other questions you have about the 880. I've had mine for over two years and it's great. You don't have to be an engineer to use the thing, but it can sometimes get complicated if you want to use the advanced functions. I've found that downloading all the documentation from Rolands website helped much more than the manual ever did.

Hi Guys.