Studio Synth choices

sbcgroup2

First off, I don't know jack about keyboards or midi controllers. I'm a drummer turned guitar player...lol....but I can play a little on the keys.

Anyways, I need a midi controller keyboard that will enable me to control and create drum, piano, synth, horn sounds, etc thru software run on my computer. Right now I'm tooling around with using a mouse and it totally sucks.

Anyways, I'm looking at:

1. M-Audio Axiom 61
2. M-Audio Keystation Pro 88
3. CME UF8

Weighted action is cool, but I don't know if the latter two models could do a decent job playing a couple of drum grooves (don't you need non-weighted for the quicker response)?

Anyways, the Axiom 61 has pads on it too, which is cool.

What do you all recommend or can you point me in the right direction? I don't mind spending decent money to make the investment in something so I don't have to re-buy it again, etc.

I also am still deciding on which software package to use between Logic, Cubase and Pro Tools LE. Logic seems to have the best sounding samples, etc.

Any/all input is GREATLY appreaciated!!!

Thanks!!

re:

fraserhutch said:
Man this question has been BEATEN to death here lately. Just read through this forum.

I have been reading thru the forum.

1. I don't care what sounds the keyboard offers since it will all be done thru the computer.

2. Read about some incompatability problems with Cubase on some products.

3. Again, will hammer action be bad for playing drum parts since the keys won't respond fast enough?

I've read thru people's suggestions on the feel they like. Most people are leaning toward the Yamahas. The MO8 looks cool, but again, do I really need to spend $1600 when I could be getting the sounds off my software instead? I'll just be using it as a songwriting tool and additive in the studio. I won't be playing live gigs on the keyboard, etc.

Opinions....Thanks!

sbcgroup2 said:
Anyways, the Axiom 61 has pads on it too, which is cool.