Studio question

Eric Best

Hey guys I've been reading these posts for a couple of months and gained much valuable information. Thanks. I've also read " The Master Handbook of Acoustics","Build a Small Recording Studio From Scratch", and John Cooper's book. I've also check'd out all of John Sayers' stuff on the web and many of the posts. My degree is in Mathematics and I also have a strong background in science so I have a pretty good understanding of what is going on with acoustics. I have a couple of questions.

1. With this background should I be able to do a reasonable
job of designing my own studio, or are there more places
to go and more books to read. Should I "steal" others
designs or try to come up with my own?

2. I will be buying a new house in the near future. Am I
better off buying a house that I can build an addition on
to or, buy a more expensive house that has rooms that I
can adapt to recording purposes?

Thanks, any ideas and debates are encouraged.

1. Why don't you design some studios, and present them for people to critique? That's a good way for you to learn, find out what works and what does not. Stealing someone elses complete design idea and replicating it as your own isn't very cool, but implementing parts of a good design you have seen into a space you are designing is ok.

IMO, there are people good at design, and there are those who can't do it very well. Having the knowledge of how things are supposed to work gives you a leg up, now you need to try and apply it to a situation to see if you are able to design studios.
Question: Have you physically been in many commercial studios? I would think you'd learn a whole lot from that.