Studio Projects VTB-1 not working

osion

hey,
I have a studio projects VTB-1 and have had it since March 2003- two years ago. Since I got it, it would occasionally not work. I am an amateur and am not familiar with the correct terminology, but i record with sonar 2 and when I would arm the track the power readings from the preamp would fluctuate wildly and if i try to record there are cracking sounds. This has happened occasionally since I got the equipment but now its happening every single time.
From the beginning, I contacted Studio Projects several times via email and was never responded to except for once when a representative asked me if i would like to send in the unit to be checked, I replied yes and requested an ATR, but i was promptly ignored again. So basically their customer service completely ignored me so I'm hoping someone here can help or offer some advice or a way to rectify the problem.
I hope I have clearly explained the problem I'm having with the VTB1. If I havent please let me know and I'll clarify. Any help is greatly appreciated.
thanks

I've no idea what the problem is but they have a toll-free phone number somewhere. You should dig that out (I think it's in Alan Hyatt's signature line) and give them a call.
EDIT - From their website - 1 (887) 563-6335

Do yourself a favour and ignore the copious amounts of shit that will inevitably follow in this thread though. :)

osion said:
hey,
I have a studio projects VTB-1 and have had it since March 2003- two years ago. Since I got it, it would occasionally not work. I am an amateur and am not familiar with the correct terminology, but i record with sonar 2 and when I would arm the track the power readings from the preamp would fluctuate wildly and if i try to record there are cracking sounds. This has happened occasionally since I got the equipment but now its happening every single time.