Strings question

tonyw1

sorry if this sounds like a stupid question but i am still new to the more technical side of guitars i play for my own enjoyment and because i am really into music so sorry if i'm coming across as stupid! :confused:

ok, i have an epiphone les paul junior and the strings are really tight to the fret board and the guitar is really comfortable to play
i also have a squier jaguar and another epi les paul junior double cutaway but the strings are higher off the fret board and not as comfortable for me to play
is there anyway of changing this or what causes it?again sorry if this is a silly question :spank:
many thanks
Tony

You just need a good setup done to the jag and LP jr. You can do it yourself, but if you're totally new to setting action and intonation, take it in to repair shop. They can knock em out no problem.

What Greg says: a guitar shop that has a technician can do a complete setup, adjusting the action (that's the height the strings are above the fretboard) to your liking and ensuring that you don't have fret buzzing, checking the intonation and more. As you like the Epiphone's action, take that with you and the techie can measure that. If the strings on teh two guitars are a different gauge then you may want the techie to set the Squier up for the same gauge as you use on the Epiphone. Expect to pay around 60 euros - that's just a guess. A good set up can last a lifetime.

thanks for much for that guys there is a good music shop in a city about 45 minutes away from me i'm going to give him an email now and see can he or one of the guys that work in the shop do it for me, no point bringing all my stuff up to find out that he has no one that can do it!
is it a complicated thing to do?i wouldn't mind spending a few euro on it if it means that the guitar will be more comfortable and better to play!

no point bringing all my stuff up to find out that he has no one that can do it!