Stones - Exile on Main Street - Sweet Virginia VOX

Claytrell

I was listening to this the other day and was really struck by this recording and the sound of the 'room' reverb. I'm a rookie at recording techniques, is there anyone who could give me a ballpark place to start where I might get the feel of the Jagger solo VOX? Or perhaps a resource regarding the production? Thanks mucho.

Fine, make me look it up :rolleyes:
I'd guess something along the sounds along the lines of some rough room effects in there -some fairly strong 'phase tone effects via reflections going on? Go with the sound of some mono delays -60 to 70ms range as a start point for an example.

Some of the room sound might be due to the fact that much of Exile on Main Street was recorded in a French villa, not a "proper" recording studio. Like Deep Purple's Machine Head, and Led Zeppelin 3 and 4, they used the Rolling Stones Mobile Unit. It was quite the popular recording setup back then for bands to lease a nice house and get the RSMU to do the tracking.

Last edited:
Some of the room sound might be due to the fact that much of Exile on Main Street was recorded in a French villa, not a "proper" recording studio. Like Deep Purple's Machine Head, and Led Zeppelin 3 and 4, they used the Rolling Stones Mobile Unit. It was quite the popular recording setup back then for bands to lease a nice house and get the RSMU to do the tracking.
Thanks. You got me to have a listen to the album's other songs. Some of the stuff was apparently partly done or finished 'in a proper studio (name blank here :>) Re the vocals -generally, running typically- on the lowish side in the mix, some (a few?) sounding fairly direct, some with various ambience /FX.
In the less direct/more room sides of it -in general and various amounts; the room -size/reflections, rougher' -rather not 'pretty and smooth'.. Some of it/that, presumably with the tones shifting. (for some of that.. listen for high/low roll offs, 'mids stuff at times..)