Starting with nothing but a budget.

madh0us3

When I say nothing, I mean as far as recording equipment. I've been a musician for many (many) years and have been recorded a lot but I have never been behind the controls before.

I'm sure this has been posted here before but I didn't see it on the first few pages, so here goes:

I'm going to piece together what I need to record some songs I've written, one track at a time. I want to do it myself for once, take complete control of the writing process, and not have to deal with a band. I'm going to start small, no live drums, so I'm going to try to avoid a mixer or an interface with a bunch of inputs (unless it's cheap enough) for now. I'm hoping to go bass/guitar directly plugged into my setup - no amp/cabinet for either. I'm not even going to worry about a mic or vocals right away, I'll probably add a lot of sample type stuff and random audio clips (from movies) in lieu of vocals to begin with until I get more comfortable with the whole thing.

I'd like to get a decent sound quality, but I have no illusions that I'm going to record the next Britney Spears album.

I've got in my head right now that I'm going to get a computer (probably just a refurb with good enough RAM I can get cheap), a USB type audio interface, a preamp if the audio interface doesn't have that, and some software.

But as far as the interface, what's good? I was looking at M-Audio Fast Track Pro and USB models, but I'm seeing some negative reviews and things about people having trouble getting settings right due to less than great manuals and tech support. With me being new to the recording process and I'm looking for something that I will be able to figure out. I'm no slouch on a computer but I am a novice to running the recording stuff myself.