starting recording with my tascam

Ed Wood

Hello to everyone, i'm a musician new to tascam world. I bought on ebay a portastudio 5, and i'd like to start recording some folk solo music with that. I play folk crazy music in Beck style. My equipments are:
Tascam porta 05
Shure sm58......

nothing more

Considering that i want a really lo-fi kind of recording, i don't need crazy equipment, just the essential. I was thinking about a small preamp for the mic...could it be useful?
My recording will basically be all with the mic, from the voice to the acoustic guitar, to some toys and a small bontempi toy keyboard.
After i will pass everything on the computer to clean a bit maybe. I've got an external sound card called creative mp3, with rca input.
What else?
I really hope to have a lot of answers, i need help, i'm just a complete newbie in recordings.

Thaks

Antonio

Antonio,

a decent preamp, even small will be very useful...u want lo-fi, but im sure u want dimension..i cant speak for the pres on the porta5, but i would take a wild guess that they're not that good...having a 3D sound can really help you, lo-fi or not...dont go looking for the lo-fi on the preamp, thats not where you wanna cut corners believe me.

for a decent preamp that wont break your bank, get a dmp3 from M-audio..if u go anywhere below that, might as well use the preamps on the portastudio. but that said, this is a great preamp, i own it and like it a lot..its a lot of preamp for 130 bucks or whatever its going for these days..

if u want that "one foot to the grave" sound, make sure u use cheap as hell guitars ;)

i used to love that record..but the only thing i can hear from him now is Mutations..i think its his best ever.