Standard Procedure

mgiles7

OK, this is a total newbie question, But I think it would really help some of us budding recording geeks to know what (and I am sure there might be varied opinions on this which is just fine) Most of you experienced engineers standard procedure is concerning recording.

Example-

Find levels and mic placement
Record Tracks
Insert Effects
Eq
Master
etc... etc....

Please shed some light and wisdom on this subject for us rookies. :)

Matt

I dont want to be too cocky. But after 117 posts you hav'nt found the answers to some of these questions yet ???
Thats almost like asking someone to write a book !
Most of your needs for knowledge on these subjects can be found within the 100's of posts posted.
Sorry, I think the Crown Royal is starting to kick in....:eek:

Not sure if I qualify as an "experienced engineer" but....

Instrument tuning
Song practice- paying close attention to how I play while NOT recording.
Think about how I want the instrument to sound in the song
Mic choice and placement, and preamp choice.
Wow, that took a long time.
Making damn sure any compression is set properly.
Setting levels.
Recording tracks.
Listening to tracks to make sure they are OK.
Swearing and shouting.
Rerecording tracks.
Listening....swearing and shouting...go back to step 2&3 because I forgot it in all that fuss. Continue from there.

Record ALL tracks, adding only enough effects to provide an inspiring mix to record with.
Set all levels to zero, turn off all effects.
Mix (levels, panning, and mix automations) all tracks without effects.
Add compression and EQ where needed.
Set up a couple reverbs for "room" sounds and vocals.
Spend a few hours trying different delays and reverbs on the lead vocals.
Mix like crazy- tweak, tweak, tweak.
Make sure my automations are exact- edit if needed.
Listen to the mix until I'm sick of it.
Have friends listen to the mix and gather comments.
Run the stereo mix through t-racks to see if I can make is sound better.