Stage presence behind the drum kit!

FattMusiek

I'm new to playing live with my band and was wondering if anyone has some tried and true tips for being successful with stage presence. I am somewhat shy and have a bit of trouble looking like I'm really enjoying myself. I've heard simply smiling is huge, but I've always found it difficult to force a smile. My drumming style is not impeccable either so unfortunately I can't be that drummer who is so good it doesn't matter what his face is saying.

Thank you fellow drummers!

It is really easy for drummers to look bored, even if you are having fun.

Don't let your mouth hang open.
Don't stare at your hi-hats constantly (this is really easy to do). Look at the other band mates, interact with them with your eyes. This really helps.
When performing a difficult lick, don't be afraid to let your face show exercision of the difficult passage, even if its just rolling your eyes back.
Do a few stick twirls when you arne't playing, but DON'T TRY ANYTHING WHILE PLAYING PASSAGES! Since you're just starting to learn stage presence and technique, don't mess up what you're doing already.

Don't try to fake headbang or force yourself to make facial expressions. The only thing you should think about should be keeping your mouth from hanging open constantly, and interacting with the rest of the band.

Basicly: What Seafroggys said...

Most drummers you see are pretty focussed on what they're doing, so they aren't really aware of their stage presence. I've got the same problem :P

But it really helps if you look at your bandmates, try to look in the crowd, and maybe smile a bit, if youre having fun. Obviously, smiling while you are playing in a brutal metal band doesn't work that well, but I guess you get the point...

I've seen the Korean drummer vid and it's painful.