Stage Condenser for Vocals?

Johnbmx26

Hello,
I'm new to all this, and looking for a mic that could do decently in a few situations.

I just bought a firebox and my purpose was to record and have live vocals with a few plugins effects through my computer. But I have yet to pick a mic. It'd be nice to use this with some percussion instruments, acoustic guitar, and ukulele as well.. both for live and recording. (if this is possible)

I've been considering the AKG C1000S but was told it was horrible for vocals. Though, since I'm going to running quite a few effects (autotune, harmonizer, and vocoder) do you think it will matter as much? They're going for a relatively cheap price and that would help me out a ton.

John

I personally really like the Rode NT-3 for live vocals, as it has a natural sound (to my ears). Some have given it reviews on both ends of the spectrum.

Pretty versatile on other instruments too, although I've had limited experience in those areas with it (tried it a couple times on acoustic guitar paired with other mics and got decent results)

I've been wanting one of the Shure Beta 87a's for a long LONG time... IMO, those mic's are one of hte best live vocal mic's out there .... Heck, the Eagles used them on there last tour for their vocals ;)

Rick

My vote for the C1000S.

The few times that I had to mix singers using it live were some of the best live vocal mixes I ever did! AMAZING sound for live!

Depending upon your voice and what you are after in your sound for a recording, this mic could work great!

They are built like tanks. I have dropped mine several times, and it sounds as good as any new one I have used.