Spend extra for matched mk-012's?

Chadwick

I decided to go with the mk-012's mainly for drum OH. I can get them for 80 bucks a piece or I can spend between 3 to 4 hundred for a matched pair. What do you think?

I don't know if I just got lucky or not, but the two 'off the shelf' Oktava MC-012 I got sound the same to me. But, if I understand correctly, this doesn't happen offen, and that's why people pay extra and get them from the soundroom.

Hmmm? Maybe I should do some gambling and go the cheap route. The payoff is good if I win. Is there a special way to test to see if they are the same? Sorry if that's a stupid question, Im a genuine newbie.

Chadwick said:
Hmmm? Maybe I should do some gambling and go the cheap route. The payoff is good if I win. Is there a special way to test to see if they are the same? Sorry if that's a stupid question, Im a genuine newbie.

Special way, probably. Ask Harvey, Brent, or someone about special ways to test a mic. What I do is AB (compare) them by using them, and the two I have, look the same, act/respond the same, and sound the same to me. I can't tell one from the other, the two I have sound the same to me.

the general rule is that you don't need a truly matched pair unless you are recording classical. otherwise, a close pair will do and that's something you can do with your ears.

steve
www.piemusic.com

Buy four or five of them off the shelf. That way i reckon youve got a pretty good chance of getting a matched pair, and you also have 5 good quality condensor microphones available to you! Too easy

Just go to the salesperson and tell them that your going to buy a pair but you have heard that they can be inconsistant, So could you please get 5 out so I can try them and know I'm getting a closley matched set.

That is what I did and they were very happy to help.

Scott