Speaker size: 10" vs 12"

Simmons

I’m looking at the Groove Tubes Soul-o Single as a small studio recording amp. They offer a 10” version and a 12” version. I will not be able to audition them side by side and was just wondering what your thought were on different speaker sizes in terms of tone and character in a combo or speaker cabinet?

I have no experience with this amp, but 12 inch speakers almost always give you better low end. 10 inchers tend to be brittle in comparison.

I would think that a 10" vs. a 12" wouldn't be audibly different but, larger speakers carry low frequencies better, however, they lose some punch and definition... That would be the reason to get the one with the 10" speaker for a bit more clarity and less of the lows. It probably depends on what guitars you're playing through them. The 12" should have the most versatility. Just make sure you turn it up.

Farview said:
I have no experience with this amp, but 12 inch speakers almost always give you better low end. 10 inchers tend to be brittle in comparison.

That's the main deal. Bigger speakers, all else being equal, can reproduce lower freqs. Other important factors include cabinet design (open or closed back), power handling, and modern or vintage design.

In a small combo I'd probably go with the 12". But it's personal.

A closed back cabinet can help define and tighten up low end, and provides some acoustic damping of the speaker.
A low-power speaker will distort at lower power levels, becoming part of the sound of the amp at lower volumes. A high power speaker will more accurately let the tone of your amp through.