sound Card - mbox

ax1lla

Hi all - this is my first time posting. Thanks in advance for the help.

I have a Fostex VF16 that I'm gonna get rid of as I don't know of an easy way to get it to my PC (SCSI output).

A friend of mine recommended the mbox (comes with ProTools). However, I am not sure how this will do with my sound card. I have an HP Pavilion Dv7 Notebook and the sound card listed under Device Manager is "IDT High Definition Audio CODEC" and "NVIDIA High Definition Audio" (Not sure which one is my actual soundcard).

Can you tell me if this sound card will be fine? Will I lose any quality? any advice is greatly appreciated.

Corey

I started out on Logic when it was on PC. A lot of people say Logic is really complicated, but I found it easy and got great results. Then, when Logic went Mac only, I got an M Box.

Boy do I hate pro tools. It's so hard to use. The instructions are lacking, and there aren't even any tags that pop up when you mouse over a control. To get instructions, you have to pay for expensive and time consuming lessons.

I just hope you'll think about other options. It is NOT a joy to record in pro tools le, and I've never managed to obtain the same great results that I got so easily in Logic. Plus, the failure of the software to work with most hardware and systems is notorious.

If you do get it, I suggest you make sure the store will let you return it after you try it out.

Well, you could get a scsi card for your pc to transfer your files. They're kind of expensive ~$100. Looks like the VF16 also has ADAT out, so you could conceivably get 8 channels of audio out of that at a time and get a soundcarad with an ADAT input.

The soundcard you have in your computer now really doesn't figure into the equation. When you get an interface, you'll disable the onboard soundcard and the interface will handle all of your inputs and outputs.

If you get the MBox, you're stuck with ProTools. Not the route I'd go. :)

Interesting