Sort of newbie question

mjareo

Sort of a newbie question

I am not a complete newbie, but I am new to playing electric and getting the most out of it sound-wise.

I run my guitar(s) through a Boss ME-30 for effects and so on. I often go straight into the PA through it because I usually play in a church and the stage gets too noisy if I am mic'ing my amp. Not idea, but oh well. My question is this:

I would like to get the best sounds possible, and I love my guitar's clean tone, but when I want to use effects (disortion or otherwise) I am sort of at a loss for what they all really do, and how the combinations will affect each other. Now the obvious answer is "Play them and find out" and I do that, but I am also wondering if there is a good resource or two (books or internet - it makes no difference) that I can use alongside of playing and finding out. Duh - nothing is ever going to replace experimentation, but the more educated my experimentation, the better (or so it would seem to me).

Any thoughts?

Last edited:
I would just say keep asking questions here. Describe the chain of effects and how you're using them and we can go from there. You may want to try them in this starting order... Compression, Distortion, EQ....

Again, there are a few things that you shouldn't do but they're not written in stone. Let us know what your doing now.

Pretty much at the moment, all I am using is:

Acoustic - compressor, EQ, chorus, reverb
Electric - compressor, "vintage" distortion setting, eq, noise suppressor, reverb
Electric - compressor, light noise suppression, EQ, reverb

I believe that is correct, but I need to go look at it again (I'm at work, so I'm not sure).

[edit] I am also starting to think (after having read some more information about compression pedals today) that using that on my acoustic is unnecessary, and perhaps even bad.