Sorry, Newbie Question!!

jmflu

Ok I am just looking to do a little bit of vocal recording and I am doing this at my house and I want to have it all run into and recorded from my pc....

i want to buy the b-2 behringer condenser mic
and the behringer preamp/voice processor

i am new to this.... so I dont understand how all the connections work.... i believe I use the XLR to get mic into preamp.... but how do I get that into my soundcard....... that is my problem....... i need the outputs and inputs explained and what I should do.... my soundcard has AUX SPDIF MIDI OPTICAL and LINE IN

any help would be appreciated..... THANKS

Go to www.8thstreet.com and get a Studio Projects B1 mic and a Studio Projects VTB-1 preamp - or an M-Audio DMP3 preamp. Entry level price, far better sound quality. Start with a clean preamp and no gadgets.

Use the line in jack on your computer card. You might need to get an adapter cable at Radio Shack - 1/4" to 1/8" (or find one at 8th Street) for about six bucks.

Go to www.fasoft.com and download n-track. You can hear a basic track with the demo. The paid software version will include all the basic effects you will need - usually a touch of reverb and maybe a light delay on some of the vocals. All the other effects are for later on. Pony up the entry fee for a 16 / 44 version and you're in business.

Get a decent set of headphones - for that, go to http://www.itrstudio.com/moreme.html . That's Harvey Gerst's outfit; the man knows his stuff and offers these for cheap decent tracking phones. They work.

After that will be the Great Monitor Chase. Don't worry about it for a while; this will be enough to get started.

Last edited: