Sonar vs. Nuendo vs. Cubase and others

Koroshiya1

Hey guys...

I'm just starting out in the whole home studio stuff. I was just curious - how does Sonar compare to Cubase and Nuendo (I'm guessing they are in the same ranks).

Also, how far below the ranks of ProTools and Logic is Sonar?

Thanks!

Pro Tools LE I'm guessing? - limited
Sonar - Pretty good
Cubase - a little better
Nuendo - very good
Logic - haven't tried it but hear you can get great results if you have the time to learn it
Pro Tools TDM/HD good if you got the $$

Now these are just my opinions because everybody is diffrent.

Here are some others to look at
http://www.sawstudio.com/

everyone is definitely different in their tastes....you can make quality recordings with all of though. I prefer/use Sonar and use nuendo also. Sonar is quicker to record with and tracks faster to me than Nuendo, but nuendo's eqing and track wave viewing while recording are very nice. personally they sound different after you've tracked something and Sonar seems to be more realistic. as for pro tools.....its good but i would feel like i would be wasting a bunch of time not having anything and saving up for it than to get Sonar and get going. Protools LE starts at 449 or something like that..and it only records 1 or 2 inputs at a time i think. but yeah your trying to draw some battle lines asking which one of the softwares are better. that could be dangerous.

I don't think you'll hear an audible difference between the different programs. I would think that your sound card would play a much bigger part. With that said, you might consider Adobe Audition at $299 (formerly Cooledit Pro). It has ALOT of bang for the buck and is very easy to use and learn. I would estimate it to be at least 95% of any of the other top end programs, which would probably cover all of your bases, especially if you are just starting out.