Sonar or Logic?

MrLip

I've been a Cakewalk Pro Audio user since version 6 and have spent quite a lot of time with version 9 -- but it's time to move on.

I'm about to finish an album and when I do, it's time to get new software. I'm planning on moving to WinXP.

I have done 1 song on Logic Audio Platinum 4.7 and... well... I don't like it. It's tedius. The interface is as un-intuitive as you can get.

Editing MIDI is a pain because the transport is not integrated into the event list window. When you edit an event and want to listen to it, you have to move your mouse to the transport and drag the time position. In CWPA, if you edit an event, the transport will automatically move there, which makes things much easier.

I also find the "object-oriented" approach difficult to work with. With MIDI, if you're trying to program a drum fill which comes at the end of an object you may end up getting 'stuck' because you cannot insert events after the object's end position. You can always adjust the object so that it covers the necessary time but that requires several clicks and then you can end up overlapping a succeding object, which will cause it to not be played.

This is also a pain when mixing. In Cakewalk, I can select a track, open the event list and see every volume controller change thoughout the whole song. But in Logic, due to the separate 'objects', I only see the volume changes for that specific object.